Blogger Recognition Award + 15 Awesome Blogs

DSC00165
My Substitute Trophy Just Because it’s Gold :3

Wow, it hasn’t been long since I’ve started my blog but I’ve already got a readership. To all you that have visited and/or followed, it’s not much but thanks!

There’s been a Blogger’s Recognition Reward circulating and I’ve been nominated by The Six Foot Bonsai. Thank you so much for having an interest in my blog, and going so far as to think it’s good enough to receive this honor.

In order to accept this award, there’s a few rules that have to be followed (taken from Japan Insider’s Post):

  1. Give thanks to the person who had nominated you and a link to their blog.
  2. Write a post to show your award.
  3. Briefly tell how you started blogging.
  4. Give two pieces of advice to new bloggers.
  5. Nominate 15 other bloggers for this award.
  6. Comment on the nominated blogs and let them know you have nominated them and give a link to the post you have created.

So let’s get started.

How I Started Blogging

New readers can refer to my first post for part of the story, but that only explains the overarching theme. How I started, though, was a much simpler tale.

I always thought that documenting my experiences would be important in some way, but there was never any real motivation or goal. Even when I actually started my new life in a new country, I just couldn’t find the will to grab my phone and take pictures. In my defense, my brain never came up with any good topics to write about either…

I know, I know. Excuses, I was just lazy.

This all changed when I bought myself the Sony a6000 and realized just how fun photography could be with a good camera. That experience opened up a doorway to realizing that I could write about exactly what I thought and share it with others. Plus, photography is simple, honest fun. Now, my pictures are taken either with my Sony or Iphone 6 and my posts come from what I observe.

Two Pieces of Advice:

Remember, I’m still an amateur, but to those starting out I can advise you this.

  1. Just start writing. You might feel creatively empty, but I assure you that’s just a mental block. It will go away. Ideas come easier, ideas come faster, but the writer must be open to them. There’s no switch to flip; start working and I swear it will get easier.
  2. Enjoy your post topics. Don’t write about something that bores you, blogging doesn’t work that way. When you start getting into a flow, you’re ideas will dig deeper and your prose more free. Focus on that quality content.

Blogs I Like:

These are in no particular order.

  1. simple Ula– A lovely blog about travel and life. The passion within the posts is striking. Plus, there’s a far reaching archive that one can read through on a rainy day.
  2. The Woks of Life– This one was introduced to me by my Sister. It’s a wonderful cooking blog with simple Asian recipes that make authentic taste. I browse just to see what I might make for dinner (but I ‘m not a good cook).
  3. Elle’s Travels and Veggie Eats– I’m no vegetarian, but reading up on the vasts tastes that come from a vegetarian diet is fascinating. Plus, there’s sweets recipes. Did I mention I like sweets?
  4. Jen Stewie, Overseas– Fellow Japan blogger, but from the viewpoint of a traveler frequenting other countries. Much more insight about international life than me.
  5. Japanathon– Grievances of Japan that we all would like to share. Japanathon does so with anecdotes that make it interesting.
  6. Living for Experiences– Travel blog about going all over the place. She’s right, we should all be living for experiences.
  7. Surviving Japan with a Smile– Tons of posts with tons of pictures. Japan, being such a complicated place, deserves blogs like these that explain niches of information. Reblogs are frequent giving you a chance to find even more writers.
  8. Thoughts of SheryL– Travel, reviews, food, experience posts, what else do you need? Definitely a fun read, much more so than The Ex-Otaku.
  9. Bites of Oishii– I love this name. It’s just so cute. Food blogs, detailed food blogs about Japan, with pictures to boost. Plus, the posts nail Japanese culture on the nose.
  10. MA by So Shi Te– Focusing on the traditional side of Japan, this blog has a lot of pottery wares. Who knew there could be so much to dishes?
  11. Japan Oblong– Basically, real Japan and real travel suggestions. Definitely some interest points for the reader.
  12. Asian Outpost– Newer blog, but no less fun. Read about Asian culture through traditional and contemporary topics.
  13. This Tiny Blue House– Minimalism is a big theme here. After my recent move, I’ve decided that having such a clutter truly is a burden. This blog helps understand that.
  14. Midnight Musings– There are times that poetry is needed more than prose, and not just the one stanza kind. Want a longer piece of poetry? Check this blog.
  15. Crank and Cog–  Japan isn’t the only country I’m interested in. I like Europe, and this blog gives a great picture of Ireland.

I hope everyone has a great time reading, and thanks again.

2 thoughts on “Blogger Recognition Award + 15 Awesome Blogs

Leave a Reply

